H.E Dr. William Samoei Ruto is the 5th President-elect of the Republic of Kenya

H.E Dr. William Samoei Ruto is the 5th President-elect of the Republic of Kenya

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chaired by Wafula Chebukati on Monday, August 15, 2022, has declared H.E Dr. William Samoei Ruto as the 5th president-elect of the republic of Kenya.

H.E President William Samoei Ruto won the 2022 general presidential election after getting Seventy Million One Hundred and Seventy-Six Thousand One Hundred and Forty-One (7,176,141) representing 50.49% of the total votes cast against his opponent Hon Raila Odinga with Six Million Nine Hundred and Forty-Two Thousand Nine Hundred and Thirty (6,942,930) representing 48.85% of the total votes cast.

IEBC Final Presidential Results

IEBC Declaration of Results for the General Election of President of the Republic of Kenya at the National Tallying Centre.

No.Name of CandidatesValid Votes in FiguresPercentage of Vote CastNumber of Counties the Candidates have attained at least 25% of Total Valid Votes Cast
1Odinga Raila




2Ruto William Samoei




3Waihiga David Nwaure




4Wajackoyah George Luchiri




Source: IEBC 2022 – Download Full General Election Results PDF Or Access via IEBC Public Portal

Verification of Presidential Results

After the Verification of transmitted image of results Form 34As against original Form 34As by Verification of constituency Form 34s against their respective original Form, 34As and Collation of Form 34C and confirmation of constitutional threshold of 50 percent plus one vote and 25 percent of majority counties, the presidential returning officer have declared H.E William Samoei Ruto as the next president of Kenya for the next five years.

Distributions of National Assembly and Senates

Kenya Azimio takes the majority in National Assembly, and Kenya Kwanza takes Senate. Raila Odinga’s Azimio la Umjoa has a majority in the National Assembly with 162 members compared to William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza which has 159 members. None of the coalitions commands an absolute majority of 180 members yet with 12 nominated seats still vacant and 4 elections having been postponed.

On single-party membership, Ruto’s UDA carries the day in the National Assembly with 137 members with Raila’s ODM coming second at 85. The two are followed by Jubilee with 28 MPs and Wiper with 24. UDA will therefore get a majority of the 12 nominated MP slots.

In the Senate, Kenya Kwanza has the Majority at 24 while Azimio comes in second at 22 Senators with one Senator unaffiliated to any of the two coalitions.

Besides, Kenya Kwanza leads in the Woman Rep count with three undeclared seats. William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza is leading in the number of seats captured in the just concluded general election with 22 seats. Raila Odinga’s Azimio la Umoja has 19 seats so far while there are three independents. Three seats – Kiambu, Nairobi, and Turkana.